Turn around Bright Eyes

every now and then i fall apart

Scent of a Woman

Another film that impresses me: Scent of A Woman.

Al Pacino = Best Actor, Academy Awards for that.

He was magnificent. I was in awe.

Two of my most favourite scenes:

(During dinner)Randy: You wanta know the truth?
Lt. Col. Frank Slade: You got a handle on that, do you, Randy?
Randy: He was an asshole before.
Lt. Col. Frank Slade: Hoo-hah!
Randy: Now all he is is a blind asshole.
Lt. Col. Frank Slade: Hoo-hah.
Randy: Hey, God's a funny guy.
Lt. Col. Frank Slade: God doth have a sense of humor.
Randy: Maybe God thinks some people don't deserve to see.
Lt. Col. Frank Slade: Whoo-ah. Hah!

That last whoo-ah, he said it sofly. And at that moment you just want him to say it with such gusto and force - because you don't want him to hurt. But he does hurt. I know this. It's like, you can tell people ugly truths about yourself, but not other people. You just can't let people say it. Not when you're around. Something like that. And Al Pacino was like, wow. WOW.

(At the court) Lt. Col. Frank Slade: Out of order, I show you out of order. You don't know what out of order is, Mr. Trask. I'd show you, but I'm too old, I'm too tired, I'm too fuckin' blind. If I were the man I was five years ago, I'd take a FLAMETHROWER to this place! Out of order? Who the hell do you think you're talkin' to? I've been around, you know? There was a time I could see. And I have seen. Boys like these, younger than these, their arms torn out, their legs ripped off. But there isn't nothin' like the sight of an amputated spirit. There is no prosthetic for that. You think you're merely sending this splendid foot soldier back home to Oregon with his tail between his legs, but I say you are... executin' his soul! And why? Because he's not a Bairdman. Bairdmen. You hurt this boy, you're gonna be Baird bums, the lot of ya. And Harry, Jimmy, Trent, wherever you are out there, FUCK YOU TOO!

How can that not make you want to be a good person yourself? A noble, honourable person who looks in the mirror and is able say, truthfully, 'Yes. I am proud to be who I am.' I feel like that. It was amazing.

This is exactly why, I think, I don't have much enthusiasm watching locally-made movies. They are not too bad, actually. But they lack depth. And in most cases, credibility. That's disappointing.

I like to watch a scene in My Best Friend's wedding. When Julianne and Michael were on a boat and he was telling her that "Kimmy says that when you're in love, you say it. Say it! Otherwise, the moment..it just passes you by." They were passing under the bridge, and Julianne was looking at Michael, looking like she wants to tell him. Then they came out and there was this music combined with that burst of sunlight above the bridge - and you just know that that's the moment that had just passed by.

Priceless.