Turn around Bright Eyes

every now and then i fall apart

Aug 22 - Hey Rihanna

Hey Rihanna.

My friend introduced this Unfaithful song to me. I didn't even bother to check it out in the first place, because, yeah, I don't know, it's not that I don't know you, I mean, I've seen your videos, the first one the title I can't remember, and the second one, SOS, which played a lot on MTV and Channel [V], and then I remember one VJ (Denise) told me (through the screen of course) that your video was H-O-T for like, work-out excercise activities, and then I saw it, and I didn't really see where. But you're really pretty. And my friend told me she digs the piano riffs (bear with me, I'm music blind) on this song.

Anyway, I kind of like it now. And she was right, the piano sounds are awesome. Only, when I really listen to the lyrics, I kinda don't get it.

"Story of my life
Searching for the right
But it keeps avoiding me
Sorrow in my soul
Cause it seems that wrong
Really loves my company"

This makes sense, so, okay.

"He's more than a man
And this is more than love
The reason that the sky is blue
The clouds are rollin' in
Because I'm goin' again
To him I just can't be true"

I'm kinda lost here, but I'm guessing you... just... can't... stay... true...? Because even when you had something good in your life you just screw it up?

"And I know that he knows I'm unfaithful
And it kills him inside
To know that I'm happy with some other guy
I can see him dyin'"

Okay, yeah, so you know you're doing something wrong. But you're happy with this other guy.

"I don't wanna do this anymore
I don't wanna be the reason why
Everytime I walk out the door
I see him die a little more inside
I don't wanna hurt him anymore
I don't wanna take away his life
I don't wanna be.... a murderer"

See here? Is where you lost me completely. I don't understand. You don't want to leave him? But you're still doing it? And you know it's killing him? And you don't want to keep on doing this. You've said so so many times.

"I feel it in the air
As I'm doin my hair
Preparing for another date
A kiss upon my cheek
As he reluctantly
Asks if I'm gonna be out late
I say I won't be long
Just hangin' with the girls
A lie I didn't have to tell
Because we both know
Where I'm about to go
And we know it very well"

This one's kinda wacky, in terms of the lyrics. Especially in the And we know it very well. Hee. It's funny to me. Anyway, so here you're just explaining further about your.. escapades. And finally there's:

"Our love... his trust
I might as well take a gun
And put it to his head
Get it over with
I don't wanna do this... anymore"

Yeah. I'm just lost. I don't understand why you keep doing this to him when you're so aware that you're wrong, and plus, he knows it. He's kind of a wuss? What man would take this? And you say our love. This means you have a real relationship, right? I mean, I don't know, I'm really bad at them.

That part when you say 'I don't wanna be a murderer' is kind of overdramatic to me. I mean of course he'll be devastated if you leave him, but I'm sure he'll bounce back. You're not married or anything, right? Or we don't really know? But you know, men being men. They'll be fine.

Maybe this song is just like another one of those soap-opera type that to you it doesn't make sense, but for the people in it, it is real and something that they cannot escape. It reminds me of the time in The Bold and the Beautiful when Bridget told Nick that she had aborted their baby, because she was sure that Nick still had feelings for Brooke her mother, and Nick was devastated and got drunk, but the truth was Bridget was still pregnant but she told Nick she lost the baby because she wants proof that if Nick stayed it would be because he loved her and not just because she's carrying his baby, and she wanted her friend to spy on him and tell her the truth, and then Brooke and Nick got together one more time because he was really upset and Brooke was just being herself, and the reason for this was truly because of the decision Bridget made, and the whole thing was just so wacky that I couldn't believe Bridget concocted it, but it happened because it was soap-opera and they don't and won't make sense real-life. This song is maybe like that.

I'd still listen to it, Rihanna, it's a good song and your voice has a nice unique quality to it, but it's just a funny thing to be singing about, heehee, is all i'm saying.