Turn around Bright Eyes

every now and then i fall apart

This could have been the Princess's Diaries

We were talking about heritage ancestry today. There is a lot of Jawa people around, apparently, heehee. K.Hairus was telling that her family used to carry a Javanese family name. Kira pangkat la, like that. But it got lost because her grandfather's father, her moyang, made a proclamation that the generation after him shall no longer use the special name. Bugger. I mean, she could have something like a title in front of her name. And apparently you couldnt also suddenly decide to use that name if you want to.

My father's family also used to have a title. But we lost it because my grandfather's father ran away to Malaya from Java to marry a tempe-making or selling woman. So he was disgraced. Since he was the family's only son, we lose the title. My dad says my grandfather didnt really like talking about that.

So, really, I could have been a princess, you know. Heee.